Shark News

-A A +A
By Ceday Key School Journalism Class

Back to the Past

By Caely Hibbits

The English III class has been reading The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, to celebrate the end of the year and the finishing of The Great Gatsby. This party was set in the 1920s, the era when The Great Gatsby was written.

All students, including the teacher, Ms. April, dressed in clothing that reflected the styles worn during the Flapper Era. Students finished The Great Gatsby movie, then danced, snacked, and got into character! Salads, dessert, and Shirley temples were on the menu, while jazz music played in the background.

FFA Year End Celebration

By Zo Stuber

The Cedar Key Junior FFA chapter held their second annual awards ceremony last Tuesday, the 27th of May. The officers present were Vice President Jenny Bierman, Sentinel Jade Watson, Chaplain Ryan Beckham, Secretary Chloe Reynolds, Historian Haley Simpson, Reporter Sarah Martin, Parliamentarian Alicia Lambert, and Treasurer Molly Gordon.

After the meeting was called to order, Vice President Jenny Bierman called roll and each officer described his or her corresponding duties in office. The officers then announced the candidates for the Discovery Degree Award for those who have participated in FFA for one year. The recipients of this award were Shea Osteen, Camryn Lumley, C.J. Parks, Frank Zimmanck, Sam Smith, Miranda Finelli, Devin Littlefield, Tyler Anderson, Adam Emig, Bobby Tramell, and Laia Gore. The next award was the Greenhand Degree Award. This award is for students who have participated in FFA for two years. Jade Watson, Alicia Lambert, Sarah Martin, Ryan Beckham, Brittany Colson, Savannah Beckham, Stephen Bainbridge, Mady Riley, Molly Gordon, Haley Simpson, Chloe Reynolds, Jenny Bierman, Josh Berger, and Meikala Hunter.

The prospective FFA members, dubbed "sprouts" by the veteran members, were all invited to attend and get a "taste" of FFA. The "sprouts" consisted of fourth, fifth, and sixth graders that expressed an interest in joining FFA. They were introduced onstage by the officers and helped with the running of the meeting.

The next order of business was the contest awards. The Cedar Key Junior FFA chapter participated in three competitive events: Forestry Judging, Land Judging, and FFA Opening Ceremonies. The 2007 Forestry Judging team was Jade Watson, Alicia Lambert, Mady Riley, and Chloe Reynolds. Out of 27 schools, Cedar Key placed third, with Jade placing third overall in the Timber Cruising Portion of the contest, and Alicia scoring the most points on the team. The 2007 Land Judging team was Tyler Anderson, Mady Riley, Laia Gore, and Sam Smith. With a total of five counties participating, the Cedar Key Land Judging team placed second in the region. In December the chapter traveled to the sub-district contests in Williston, where Jenny Bierman, Savannah Beckham, Josh Berger, Jade Watson, Chloe Reynolds, Molly Gordon, and Alicia Lambert made up the team that placed fourth overall.

Special guests included the Area Two State Vice President Jeffery Williams and Jessica Southard, who is running for the 2008-2009 Area Two State Vice President, both of whom gave speeches. Earlier this school year Jessica had hosted a leadership seminar at Seahorse Key.

The chapter members extended their thanks to the many volunteers for the assistance they have received from the community in order to start the chapter. The community members were given plaques commemorating their service to the FFA chapter. These included Heath Davis, Missy Jackson, Jeffrey Williams, Doug Maple, Jenny McCain, Sue Ice, and Jessica Southard. A few community members were also awarded honorary lifetime membership awards. Those people were Michelle Hagan, Joe Simpson, and Bruce Wilson.

The last awards were given to Savannah Beckham, President, and were determined by a majority vote among the FFA members. She received both the Chapter Star Member Award and the Leadership Award.

The night ended with a slide show of the club's experience over the past two years and was produced by the school's technology director, Miss Tina Berger. The club lead the room in a pledge to the flag, and provided refreshments for attendees.