CKS outgoing seniors garner scholarships, academic honors

-A A +A
By Sean Arnold

Members of the Cedar Key School Class of 2018 received scholarships and various academic recognitions at their graduation commencement ceremony May 26 in the CKS gym.

To begin, outgoing Principal Josh Slemp applauded the community support behind those scholarships.

“I just can’t tell you how fortunate this school is to get a tremendous amount of support that we get from the community and local businesses and all organizations,” Slemp said.

The scholarship portion of the morning culminated with the recognition of Class Valedictorian Emilie LaVoie-Ingram as a Florida Bright Futures Florida Academic Scholar, which qualifies her for 100 percent college tuition funding. The elite scholarship requires a minimum of a 3.5 GPA as well as 75 hours of community service and a 29 on the SAT, among other items.

Fellow seniors Trevor Ryan and Grayson Yearty qualified as Florida Gold Seal Vocational Scholars, which requires a minimum 3.5 GPA in career and technical education courses.

Salutatorian Mackenzie Kirkbride, Whitney Neal, Devin Stottlemyre and Corey Sykes were recognized for achieving the high school honor roll. Subject area award winners among the seniors included: Kirkbride – Government; LaVoie-Ingram – Economics; Devin Stottlemyre – Probability and Statistics and English IV; and Corey Sykes for Math for College Readiness.

Students receiving Agriculture Technology industry certification included: LaVoie-Ingram; Trevor Ryan and Stottlemyre. Stottlemyre was also recognized for receiving Agriculture Associate Certification. Students earning Microsoft Office certification included: Kirkbride; LaVoie-Ingram; Austin Minehart; Whitney Neal; Trevor Ryan; Hannah Stallworth; Devin Stottlemyre and Grayson Yearty.

The remaining scholarships and their recipients were:

• Ludwig Johnson Scholarship ($1,000) – Grayson Yearty

• Capital City Group Foundation – Grayson Yearty

• Levy County School Foundation – Trevor Ryan; Hannah Stallworth; Grayson Yearty

• Duke Energy Scholarship – Emilie LaVoie-Ingram

• Mt. Pilgrim Primitive Baptist Church Memorial Scholarship – Hannah Stallworth

• Levy Soil and Water Conservation – Emilie LaVoie-Ingram

• Central Florida Electric Cooperative Foundation – Trevor Ryan

• College of Central Florida ($2,000) – Trevor Ryan and Devin Stottlemyre

• Cora Tooke Andrews by Christ Episcopal Church – Grayson Yearty

• Cedar Key Historical Society Linda Hudson Scholarship (inaugural) – Emilie LaVoie-Ingram

• Cedar Key Woman’s Club – Emilie LaVoie-Ingram

• Cedar Key Parent-Teacher Organization – Emilie LaVoie Ingram ($2,000); Austin Minehart ($1,000); Trevor Ryan ($1,500); Hannah Stallworth ($1,000); Devin Stottlemyre ($1,500) and Grayson Yearty ($1,500).

• Cedar Key Oystermen’s Association – Hannah Stallworth

• Cedar Key Lions Club Thelma McCain Community Service (2,000) – Trevor Ryan

• Cedar Key Lions Club P.H. Day ($2,000) – Emilie LaVoie-Ingram

• Cedar Key Lions Club Vocational Training ($2,000) – Devin Stottlemyre

• Cedar Key Fraternal Order of Eagles #4194 – Austin Minehart ($1,000); Trevor Ryan ($500); • Grayson Yearty ($500)

• Cedar Key Food Service ($300) – Austin Minehart

• Vernon and Arno Webster Scholarship – Whitney Neal

Photos: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1919622078129689.1073741832.11...