City of Cedar Key Special Meeting: Wednesday 6 p.m.Levy County added to Florida’s State of Emergency

-A A +A
By The Staff

By executive order, Governor Charlie Crist added 13 counties this morning to the original six included in Florida’s State of Emergency due to the Deepwater Horizon Incident.

The coastal counties of Franklin, Wakulla, Jefferson, Taylor, Dixie, Levy, Citrus, Hernando, Pasco, Pinellas, Hillsborough, Manatee and Sarasota join already declared Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Bay and Gulf.

“On April 30, 2010, I issued Executive Order 10-99 declaring a state of emergency due to the threat that oil leaking from Deepwater Horizon drilling platform and well poses to the State of Florida,” Executive Order 10-100 states. “As the oil continues to spill from the well and all efforts to stop the discharge have failed and may not succeed for an extended period of time, more Florida counties could be affected.”

The City of Cedar Key Mayor Sue Colson has called a Special Meeting to discuss the Oil Spill Response for Cedar Key. The Meeting will be at City Hall on Wednesday, May 5 at 6 p.m.